Tags

, , ,

I’ve gotta say, in the last 7 seasons of American Idol, I have never been crazy about any contestant. I was never too impressed with anyone really. Sure I rooted for one or two of them, but that was about it.

Season 8 has changed that. It is fair to say that I am a total Adam Lambert fan!

If he makes a record today, I will be one of the first to get it tomorrow.

Every Wednesday I go onto Youtube in hopes of finding someone who has posted his performance (the perils of a TV-less campus life), and week in week out, I am enthralled by his thrilling display of vocal prowess and virtuoso showmanship.

His rendition of Smokey Robinson’s The Tracks of My Tears was breathtakingly tender and emotional, nearly bringing a tear to my eye. Heck, if Smokey can give him a standing ovation, it deserves all the plaudits and superlatives it receives.

“So take a good look at my face, you see my smile looks out of place; if you look closer, it is easy to trace the tracks of my tears…” – Smokey Robinson and the Miracles

Gosh, this season’s American Idol is getting more interesting by the week, although I back Adam 100%, Kris is bringing his A-game with some top-drawer performances while Danny is rediscovering his flawless vocals and superb form. It may well go down to the wire, but Adam Lambert, regardless of his sexual preferences, is my American Idol.

I wonder what he will do next.

PS: But I am glad Danny finally stopped dancing onstage and focus on his vocals instead because he did a brilliant cover of Rascal Flatts’ What Hurts the Most. Great stuff!

What hurts the most is being so close; And having so much to say, watching you walk away; and never knowing what could have been… – Rascal Flatts

I totally forgot how meaningful that song was.

PPS: How the eff did I lose 5kgs in the past couple of months?! My sister called me anorexic, and my dad called me bones. Oh wait, I know why.

