Tags

, ,

Yeah, contrary to popular belief, I am still very much alive, barely, but still breathing.

And I have a pretty darn good reason for the lack of updates since the start of March – I am utterly internet-less. Yeah, say what you like, I am in my friend Boon’s room right now typing away while he is sleeping. See, that is how desperate my quest for the world wide web is.

The first two weeks of the new semester has come and gone, sure, it has been pretty tough and sometimes excruciatingly painful, but hey, I still had time to catch two movies in between the househunting and pool sessions.

What can I say? Dragonball Evolution sucks!

James Wong really had balls to direct such a God-awful film, which stands at only one hour and 15 minutes. There was no character development, and the whole movie felt so rushed. But Emmy Rossum totally makes up for the woefully adapted film based on one of my favourite manga/anime of all-time, and did I mention that she is HHAAWWTT! Those blue hair extensions totally rock my world!

While Dragonball met my expectations (really really REALLY low expectations), Watchmen exceeded mine. The graphic novel, originally deemed impossible to be adapted to a movie, is one of the most highly-rated in the industry, and Zach Snyder, the person who brought 300 and Gerard Butler to our lives, makes the film a movie event like no other.

Sure, the film was a tad long at nearly 2 and a half hours, but the plot and characters needed to progress at a watchable pace, and I thought Watchmen was really nicely orchestrated and executed. From the paramountly awesome opening sequence with Bob Dylan in the background which portrayed the involvement of the Minutemen in an alternate US history to the brilliant colour and visual effects, Watchmen is a must-watch, but it is a controversial film in which movie-goers will absolutely adore the masterful screenplay and intensity or detest the dialogue-dominated film.

Either way, it is best to at least be aware of US history before committing RM10 and 2.5 hours of your life for Watchmen.

Rorschach: I heard a joke once: Man goes to doctor. Says he’s depressed. Says Life is harsh and cruel. Says he feels all alone in a threatening world. Doctor says “Treatment is simple. The Great Clown Pagliacci is in town tonight. Go see him. That should pick you up.” Man bursts into tears. Says, “But doctor… I am Pagliaci.” Good joke. Everybody laugh. Roll On snare drum. Curtains.

6 weeks of inconsolable bad luck; situations going from bad to worse to worse-r; familiar strangers, and yet, I am still alive. You ruined everything, you destroyed everything important to me, you blew the roof on top of my head away, and yet, I am still alive. I am still the same. Is that all you have got?

Note: The Party’s Crashing Us is performed by Of Montreal.

