, , , , , , , , ,

Manchester United did their best to blow it, but in the end, the best team won the league as United celebrated their 10th Premier League title in 15 years with a nervy 2-0 defeat of Wigan at the JJB Stadium last night to condemn Chelsea to second place.

Cristiano Ronaldo netted his record 41st goal of the season with a calm penalty in the 31st minute following Emmerson Boyce’s foul on returning striker Wayne Rooney in the penalty area. Until then, Wigan had restricted United to few chances as the defending champions failed to turn possession into goals early on.

United’s destiny were in their own hands as a win will guarantee the Old Trafford giants the title ahead of their London rivals on goal difference, and Ryan Giggs, while equaling Sir Bobby Charlton’s record appearance for the club, clinched the Premiership for United with a calm finish in the 77th minute.

I have to say, it was really nail-biting stuff as I kept switching channels to make sure Chelsea were not in front of Bolton while United were held by Wigan, but all in all, it will be a season to remember as we still have the all-Anglo Champions League final against Chelsea to look forward to in 10 days’ time.

Below is the Barclays Premier League 07/08 trophy presentation to the United players and staff.