You know those times when you fear something, and it really manifests itself, and you later curse yourself for thinking of it in the first place cause you jinxed it? Well, lo and behold, it happened during the previously promoted “Write Out Loud” book reading at MPH 1 Utama on Saturday, 31st of March.

Well, things went downhill when my editor and creator of the book Karen-Ann called me the night before to inform me that I would be the only author present that day. I mean, I have no qualms presenting alone, but really ALONE?

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

That was the stage for the biggest non-event of all-time, beating any gotong-royong in history! I had to convince the MPH staff that I was indeed one of the 31 writers for “Write Out Loud” and that I would indeed do it alone. I was greeted with skepticsm, but after thinking that no one in their right mind would say to have been involved in something like that ALONE, they duly got up and set up all the PA stuff and chairs.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I was accompanied by Mun Wei, Don and Geoffrey, who were probably there to kill two birds with one stone as after my 3 pm book-reading, we had a movie date with “Shooter” so I guess their motives were indeed questionable, but accepted and appreciated all the same.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Posing and acting real cool aside, the book-reading finally started albeit in pathetic circumstances. Of all the 6 people who actually bothered to turn up for the event, I knew half of them (I think you know who they were as well). The other half comprised of an enthusiastic Indian girl-lady (cannot be sure, so sorry if you are reading this by chance) and a Malay family who was just sitting there for the sake that there were chairs and they were tired. That just about tells you about my 15 minutes of fame I guess.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

So I started with my introduction and experiences sandwiched in between by a 2 minute reading of my story “Strike” (page 149 to all my fans out there, yes you there…NO DON’T RUN AWAY!) before I handed it over to Richard, who did come to my rescue with his 15 minutes as well. Let’s see, Mun Wei was so bored that he started to record me and put in stupid comments with it while Don started reading a gaming magazine he just bought. Geoffrey just stared out into the beyond I guess, thinking how the hell I got him to go.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Anyways, it was good exposure and an extremely good trial session for my oral presentation (I got 9! Out of TEN!! Muahaha) the following monday plus I got to stay with Don and nearer to 1 Utama as well. Got the chance to taste the tasty TTDI cuisine. Plus “Shooter” was entertaining and action-packed which was all about, well, shooting. We watched Mr Bean a day earlier which was really really funny!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Sorry Richard, could not resist posing while you were talking. Anyways the combined promoting and marketing genius of Boon Ken and Richard managed to sell….

*Drum roll*

ONE BOOK!

*bow*

